Open Club  ·  24 members  ·  Free

The Creative Habit

Welcome and Introductions!

Alice Creason
3 3

This group is for anyone and everyone who wants support and a little accountability on the way to building a daily creative habit. 

Introduce yourself here!

Do you already have a well-established daily creative habit? Have you been trying to build one? What do your current habits look like? 

----------------

I'm Alice, and I've been trying to establish a daily creative habit for what feels like forever. Sometimes I get some momentum going and can keep it up for days, weeks, even months. But, then life delivers a smackdown, and I have to start all over again.

My primary areas of making are embroidery/needlework, weaving, and drawing. But, I also dabble in paper crafts and other areas.

I live in the far south suburbs of Chicago with my husband and our cat, Chi. By day I am a systems librarian at a private university where I am also an adjunct instructor for art history.

Edited by Alice Creason
  • 2 weeks later...

I'm so excited about this group, @Alice Creason! Thank you for starting it!

---

So, hi. I'm Kim. And as you all likely know, I started my daily creative habit a few years ago, by doing a Year of Making. I had never succeeded at any kind of daily project before that, and I had tried many of them. I was certain I didn't have the conviction or the commitment or the creativity or whatever. Until I found an approach that worked with me instead of against me, and it changed everything about my creative experience.

I did a YoM for several years straight, and at this point I hardly think about it. I probably make something every day, but my habit is strong – it's my normal now to be making things, so I may notice when I skip a day or a week, but I no longer fret that I'll have to work on reestablishing the habit. The habit is the part that's a constant. I honestly didn't think I'd ever write these words; it's a really great feeling.